Introduced

APR 2 1 2006

## MINA' BENTE OCHO NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN. 2006 (SECOND) Regular Session

Executive Committee Resolution No. 188

Introduced by:

Ray Tenorio

L. F. Kasperbauer

A.B. Palacios

Relative to observing May 15, 2006 as 'Peace Officers Memorial Day' and honoring those who have fallen in the line of duty, making the ultimate sacrifice in defense of the people of Guam.

BE IT RESOLVED BY I MINA'BENTE SIETE NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN:

WHEREAS, President John F. Kennedy made the first proclamation of 'Peace Officers Memorial Day' in 1962, which became law, commemorating a day that all citizens honor members of the 'Thin Blue Line'; and

WHEREAS, 'Peace Officers Memorial Day' is celebrated across the United States, from the largest cities to the quietest suburbs, and our island community joins the nation in saluting our men and women for their courage, commitment, and honor, risking their lives everyday protecting the lives of others and our property from crime; and

WHEREAS, peace officers fulfill a great calling in upholding the rule of law in our society, with the knowledge that theirs is a dangerous job, often placing themselves in harm's way and making the ultimate sacrifice in defense of others, but readily accept these risks in answering the call to duty

by solemnizing their oaths in their chosen profession, demonstrating a willingness to help others and reflecting the best of Guam; and

WHEREAS, during Police Week, most especially on 'Peace Officers Memorial Day', our island residents also pay tribute to the men and women in law enforcement who sacrificed their lives in the line of duty over the years and for whom our island community memorialize those who have fallen in our hearts, and earned eternal respect and appreciation; and

WHEREAS, our island leaders give their full support to all law enforcement officers by providing the necessary tools and resources to protect the island community and to protect those who protect us; and

WHEREAS, citizens throughout our community have an interest in preventing crime through stronger cooperation with law enforcement officers and participating in programs, such as volunteering as civilian police reserves, in public safety events, neighborhood watch partnerships, and better preparing for emergencies as well as helping to secure our homeland from the threat of terrorism; and

WHEREAS, we honor the memory and preserve the legacy of all those who lost their lives to safeguard the lives of others by coming together as a whole to fight crime, protect our families, property, and neighborhood; now therefore, be it

**RESOLVED**, that *I Mina'Bente Ocho Na Liheslaturan Guåhan* does hereby, on behalf of the people of Guam, honor those who have fallen in the line of duty by displaying the island's flags at half-staff; and be it further

RESOLVED, that I Mina' Bente Ocho Na Liheslaturan Guåhan does hereby

on behalf of the people of Guam designate May 15, 2006, as 'Peace Officer Memorial Day', and be it further

RESOLVED, that the Speaker certify, and the Legislative Secretary attests to, the adoption hereof and that copies of the same be thereafter transmitted to the families of those who have fallen in the line of duty: Police Officer I Francisco D. Taitague; Police Officer I Juan M. Santos; Police Officer I Francisco A. Reyes; Police Officer III Tomas M. Sablan; Police Reserve Officer Rudy C. Iglesias; Police Reserve Officer Helen K. Lizama; Police Officer I Raymond S. Sanchez; Police Officer I Manuel A. Aquino; Police Lieutenant Francisco G. Toves; Police Officer I Eddie A. Santos; Conservation Officer Francisco M. Isezaki; Drug Enforcement Agency Special Agent Larry D. Wallace; Corrections Officer Douglas W. Mashburn; United States Air Force Airman Laurie Lucas; United States Air Force Sgt. Stacey E. Levay; to the Guam Police Department; to the Guam International Airport Authority Airport Police; to the Port Authority Police; and to the Honorable Felix P. Camacho, I Maga'lahen Guåhan.

DULY AND REGULARLY ADOPTED BY THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE OF I MINA'BENTE OCHO NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN ON THIS \_\_\_\_\_ DAY OF APRIL, 2006.

MARK FORBES
Speaker and
Executive Committee Chairman

EDWARD J.B. CALVO Senator and Secretary of the Legislature